The Programme area covers thirteen (13) target Counties namely:

  • Western region; Bungoma, Kakamega, Nakuru, Nandi and Trans Nzoia Counties;
  • Eastern region; Embu, Kitui, Tharaka-Nithi, Makueni and Machakos;
  • Coastal region; Kilifi, Kwale and Taita Taveta.

KCEP-CRAL target counties (13) and sub-counties (44) were selected using the following criteria:

  • Agro-ecological and economic potential;
  • Poverty incidence;
  • Population density;
  • Target commodity contributing to household income/food security and representing the best option the poor have for market participation;
  • Geographical concentration to maximize impact.